At a closed-door meeting on Monday, August 12th, members of the Sahuarita Town Council took the next step required in filling two vacant seats, left by resigned members Dalia Zimmerman and Lynne Skelton. After receiving 24 applications submitted by the deadline, the council narrowed the list of candidates to just six, who will move on to the next step in the process.

The six candidates remaining as finalists are Sergio Arellano, Kathleen Camp, Erik Dahl, Simon Davis, Myra McCune and Marty Moreno. The finalists will be interviewed by the town council at another special meeting on Monday, August 19th. This meeting will be open to the public.

The two individuals chosen to fill the two vacant seats will have terms that run until 2020, which is the town’s next regular scheduled election cycle. The appointees at that point, should they have a desire to continue, would have to run amongst other candidates in order to retain their seats. In 2020, five of the seven seats on Sahuarita Town Council will be up for re-election.

Mayor Tom Murphy shared with the audience at the meeting that he expects the decision on the two appointees to be made that evening (of the 19th) followed by a motion for those two selected finalists to formally fill the vacancies.

Back to Local Government

Submit a Story Idea